Day 11 : Green Smoothie Challenge

Sprouty Mint Green Smoothie

Well this one was definitely a swing and a miss for me! I wasn’t able to make it to the store for shopping items, so I had to kinda improvise. I had no broccoli sprouts (not even sure if I could find them), no mint leaves and no Spirulina. I had never even heard of Spirulina — have you? Well the world-wide web was full of information on this “amazing, high protein, superfood“… apparently its blue/green algae….ya, no thanks.

Banana Celery

Sprouty Mint Green Smoothie

1 Frozen Banana
½ Rib of Celery
¼ Cup Broccoli Sprouts *optional
1 Handful of Mint Leaves
1 tsp. Spirulina
½ Cup Spinach
1 Cup Almond Milk, Coconut Water or Water

Instructions: Wash all your produce. Chop and put into blender with a small amount of liquid to start. Add more as needed until you reach your desired consistency.

 

I am still using Coconut Almond Milk in my green smoothies. I did find some coconut water at Costco, however it was extremely high in sugar, so I am going to stick to milk for now. Since I was missing quite a few of the ingredients I went ahead and added the Essante Earth Greens which is a blend of organic grasses, vegetables, sprouts, leaves and high frequency minerals which assists in energizeing, alkalizing and provides whole body nutrition.

{Recipe courtesy of Young & Raw 30 Day Green Smoothie Challenge}

Posted on January 17, 2013, in Drinks & Smoothies, Recipes, Weightloss Transformation Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

